膽固醇

膽固醇不是脂肪,而是人類和動物所生產的蠟狀物質(脂),對身體功能是必不可少的。所有細胞都有膽固醇的存在,而且是中樞神經系統中的重要成份。膽固醇是用於生產膽汁酸,令消化道可吸收脂肪及脂溶性維生素到體內。人體也使用膽固醇來製造類固醇激素及合成維生素D的原材料。

膳食膽固醇是從食物中吸收的膽固醇,而血液膽固醇是在血液循環中的膽固醇。當進食高膽固醇的食物時,膳食膽固醇是不會自動提高血液膽固醇的。因為人體會產生所需的膽固醇,不像維生素,是不需要被提供的。製造膽固醇的數量是按體重來決定,所以肥胖的人比偏瘦的人會產生更多膽固醇,因此減肥能降低體內的膽固醇數量。大多數的人會通過改變人體組織內的膽固醇合成,來平衡體內的膳食膽固醇。進食過量飽和脂肪會令肝臟將更多的膽固醇輸送入血液循環系統,亦減緩了去除血液膽固醇的速度。故此,攝取過多的飽和脂肪被認為是增加高血膽固醇水平及患心臟病風險的主要因素。如過量的膽固醇由低密度脂蛋白(LDL)在血液中輸送,會增加患心臟病的風險。因這些低密度脂蛋白膽固醇(“壞膽固醇”)是負責輸送膽固醇到動脈壁而造成動脈阻塞。高密度脂蛋白膽固醇(HDL) 可以幫助膽固醇從組織及血液中輸送到肝臟,所以高數量的高密度脂蛋白膽固醇(“好膽固醇”)是可取的。目前對識別心臟病風險會有新的角度,用低密度脂蛋白膽固醇與高密度脂蛋白膽固醇的比例和總膽固醇與高密度脂蛋白膽固醇的比例作指標為佳。在2008年的 Journal of the American College of Nutrition(1),綜述超過30項研究發表證據表示,低密度脂蛋白膽固醇與高密度脂蛋白膽固醇的比例是最好的指標,因為這比例反映了膽固醇進出的血液系統,像“雙向交通”一樣。

  1. Fernandez ML, Webb D.,【 低密度脂蛋白對高密度脂蛋白膽固醇的比例,作為寶貴工具來評估冠心病的風險】. J Am Coll Nutr, 27(1);1-5,2008.

蛋白質

雞蛋是一種營養豐富的食品,在人類飲食上作出寶貴貢獻。一隻大蛋能夠提供6克高生物價值的蛋白質,於每日所需2000卡路里的飲食中已佔了10%。而事實上,雞蛋的蛋白質是用來對其他食物的蛋白質進行測定標準。氨基酸是蛋白質結構的一部份,也是身體需要給細胞和組織、調節身體機能和體能的來源。當蛋白質被分解來作能源使用時,它們不能製造和修復人體組織,因體內的蛋白質儲備供應不多。每一個人都需要不斷吸收蛋白質來修復人體細胞,填補損耗及在成長時用來更新組織。The National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine 2006的建議,每日攝取的熱量中10-35%為蛋白質。最近的研究表示,如蛋白質攝取量可達到以上建議的上限範圍,中年人可以更好地保存肌肉質量。

蛋白質是由20種不同的氨基酸組合而成。人體需要所有20種氨基酸來合成多種蛋白質。人體只能製造其中的11種氨基酸,不能自製另外9種必需氨基酸,必須從飲食中獲得。雞蛋包含了所有適當比例的必需氨基酸來滿足人類生長及維修組織的需要。而唯一的食物包含比雞蛋較理想的必需氨基酸組合就是母乳。

兩隻雞蛋等同於兩安士瘦肉,是在美國農業部的金字塔膳食營養指導計劃中被定為一個份量,當中包括肉類、家禽、魚類、乾豆、雞蛋和堅果類別。雞蛋的成本較低,而比許多同類別的動物蛋白質熱量較少。

Duyff, R. The American Dietetic Association's【膳食攝取量參考】,Chronimed Publishing, Minneapolis, MN. 1998. Dietary Reference Intakes, Institute of Medicine, The National Academies Press, 2006. www.MyPyramid.gov

膽鹼

膽鹼是一種必需的營養素,提供細胞所需的正常功能,是一個給細胞膜和乙酰膽鹼神經遞質的重要組成部分。人體需要依靠膽鹼作正常肌肉功能、脂質運輸、胎兒發育和記憶中心發展。雞蛋是營養膽鹼理想的來源,而像葉酸一樣,給發育中的胎兒有適當的神經管及神經系統功能。事實証明,在美國健康的女性中,膳食膽鹼攝取份量有所不同(每天由少於300毫克至多於500毫克不等),顯著影響孩子出生缺陷的風險。1 我們需要膽鹼來供應及製造蛋氨酸,從而合成蛋白質來控制半胱氨酸血液中的積聚,因高指數的血液半胱氨酸會增加患心臟病的風險。缺乏膽鹼飲食會提高人類DNA的損壞,而缺乏膽鹼可引致自發癌症。(2)

兩隻雞蛋含有大約一半每日建議的膽鹼,可算是足夠攝取的份量。在懷孕和哺乳期間,會建議增加膽鹼攝取量。基本上,胎盤用濃度梯度方法將膽鹼由臍血流運送給胎兒,顯示了膽鹼是胎兒發育的重要因素。可悲的是,美國農業部消費研究數據審查表示,只有約10%的人口從他們的飲食中攝取足夠的膽鹼。在成年人中,包括年輕婦女、老年婦女及孕婦,估計她們只攝取膽鹼最低的份量。3 而雞蛋可幫助彌補這個差距。

  1. Shaw GM et al. 【懷孕期膽鹼及甜菜鹼在飲食中攝取與後代的神經管缺陷】. Am J Epidemiol, 160, 102-9, 2004.

  2. Sanders LM and Zeisel SH, 【膽鹼: 腦發育中的飲食要求和作用】, Nutr Today, 42(4), 181-6, 2007.

  3. Jensen H et al, 【膽鹼在美國人口的飲食】: NHANES, 2003-2004 presented at Experimental Biology 2007.

飽足

我們喜歡吃食物的其中之一個原因是可以平息飢餓感覺及提供我們所需要的體能。如果食物能夠滿足飢餓的痛苦和使我們維持一定的體能,這食物便能提供飽足。吃雞蛋的主要好處不僅是滿足飢餓,也能使你從下一頓飯之前不需要吃零食,已證明對減輕和維持體重策略的一個寶貴資源。Wayne State University的研究人員,將在進行減肥飲食中的超重和肥胖男性和女性,跟飽足感及體重下降資料用雞蛋或百吉圈為主的早餐以熱量來作對比,他們發現在同等份量的早餐中,雞蛋的早餐可引起更大的飽足感,還提昇65%的體重及下降34%的腰圍縮減,而血脂水平沒有明顯的差異。(1)

  1. Vander Wal JS et al. 【蛋類早餐能提升體重下降】. Int J Obes advance online pub, 5 August 2008; dol:10.1038/ijo.2008.130

 

 

 

眼部健康

年齡相關的視網膜黃斑退化(ARMD),是當視網膜上的黃斑惡化,令中央視力受到影響。視網膜黃斑退化通常發生在50歲以上,主要是令老年人患上不可逆轉失明的原因。目前是不能完全根治視網膜黃斑退化,但激光療法可給有效治療。新的研究顯示,視網膜黃斑退化是因可能在飲食上缺乏某些營養素而成。水果和蔬菜內的維生素和礦物質,尤其是抗氧化劑,可降低視網膜黃斑退化的風險。其中一組植物化學物質,胡蘿蔔素,似乎有保護效果及有對抗視網膜黃斑退化的作用。眼部組織存有高濃度的胡蘿蔔素,功能像抗氧化劑一樣,中和由陽光造成對細胞有害的自由基。胡蘿蔔素會組成一些色素來保護眼睛的組織,過濾在陽光中藍色紅外線波長產生的輻射波段。

葉黃素和玉米黃質是兩種葉黃素抗氧化劑,組成眼睛的黃斑色素。最近的研究表示它們有效減少視網膜黃斑退化的風險和減慢退化進度。雞蛋黃內的脂溶性基質含有葉黃素和玉米黃質,包括其他脂溶性營養素如維生素A、維生素D和維生素E。雞蛋的蛋黃提供了葉黃素和玉米黃質常有的生物資源,比補充藥物和菠菜更多。麻省大學的研究人員發表說,將雞蛋加入在平均79歲研究對象的飲食上,都會明顯提高他們血清內的葉黃素和玉米黃質,但不會提升血清內的總膽固醇或低密度脂蛋白的濃度。(1) 同樣地,24歲和59歲之間的婦女,每天吃一隻雞蛋,在12週後發現血清玉米黃質和黃斑色素密度有所增加,但沒影響血清膽固醇的濃度。(2)

  1. Goodrow EF et al. 【中年人每天食用一隻蛋可提高血葉黃素和玉米黃素濃度,而不改變血脂及脂蛋白膽固醇的濃度】, J Nutr, 136: 2519–2524, 2006.

  2. Wenzel AJ et al. 【一個12週含蛋膳食提高婦女的血清玉米黃質和黃斑色素密度】, J Nutr, 136(10):2568-73,2006.

營養密度

大自然的設計,給雞蛋擁有完整的營養儲備供雛雞成長。雞蛋是人類重要的食物,因為它具高營養價值及價錢實惠。然而,美國人主要關注的問題是久坐和留意自己的熱量攝取來維持健康的體重。但在他們可允許的熱量攝取中,必須得到所需的基本健康營養。為了實現這個目標,他們消耗的食物需要有營養密度及維持飽足。營養密度是指食品內提供的一個或以上營養素跟卡路里含量的關係。營養豐富的食物在我們日常飲食中能供給比例高的主要營養,同時提供每日所需比較少的熱量。雞蛋是一種營養豐富的食物,因為它是優質蛋白質的豐富來源,提供了多種維生素和礦物質及相對較低的熱量。

一隻大蛋含有72卡路里及13種維生素和礦物質。兩隻大蛋可供應的各種營養素的數額顯示在附表 (右)。每日營養價值顯示,雞蛋提供多種營養素而相對提供較少的卡路里。按每日總熱量攝取量為2000卡路里的飲食中,一隻大蛋只提供7%的每日總熱量,亦提供了每日營養值上12.5%蛋白質、14%核黃素和8%或以上的其他營養物質,包括維生素A、維生素D、維生素E、維生素B-6、維生素B-12、葉酸、鐵、磷及鋅。重要的是,雞蛋是少數的天然食物源可提供維生素D。這些所有營養價值令我們不難看出為何雞蛋被認為是營養密集的食物。

結論

如限制雞蛋的攝取量,我們就會錯過了許多天然營養價值的受益機會,例如:

  • 優質蛋白質

  • 優質膽鹼來源

  • 多種均衡的基本維生素和礦物質

  • 大量易有生物葉黃素和玉米黃質抗氧化資源

  • 獨立包裝的份量,而每蛋只有72卡熱量但能給予飽足

  • 適量的脂肪含量

  • 單不飽和、多不飽和及飽和脂肪的健康比例

  • 輕鬆咀嚼的食物

  • 容易準備的食物

  • 大量可買到的食物

  • 文化上熟悉的食物

  • 成本低而可負擔得起的蛋白質

  • 高存儲能力:如冷藏可保存4至5週

營養的真實情況
每日攝取量 (Daily Values (DV)): 兩隻大蛋
卡路里 144

 

物質

蛋白質
維生素 A

維生素 B12

維生素 B6

維生素 D

維生素 E

一隻大蛋含有5克脂肪,1.5克 (7.7% DV), 沒有反式脂肪,1.5克飽和脂肪 (8% DV*),和212克膽固醇 (71% DV) 37.0毫克奧米加-3脂肪酸 , 514毫克奧米加-6 脂肪酸。

*DV = 每日攝取2,000的食物和飲料

 

%DV*

25%

10%

22%

7%

9%

4%

物質

葉酸

硫胺素

核黃素

%DV*

12%

5%

28%

20%

8%

10%

A Great Opportunity For Improving Health

Cholesterol

Cholesterol is not fat, but a waxy substance (lipid) produced by all humans and animals, and is essential for bodily function. Cholesterol is found in all cells and is an important component of the central nervous system. Cholesterol is used to produce bile acids which are required for the body to absorb fats and fat soluble vitamins from the digestive tract. The body also uses cholesterol to make steroid hormones, and as the starting material for the synthesis of vitamin D.

 

Dietary cholesterol is the cholesterol consumed in foods while blood cholesterol is the cholesterol that circulates in the bloodstream. Dietary cholesterol does not automatically raise blood cholesterol when a high cholesterol food is eaten. Cholesterol does not have to be supplied by the diet like vitamins since the body produces all the cholesterol it needs. The amount of cholesterol the body makes is determined by weight. People who are obese produce more cholesterol than lean people and weight loss can decrease the amount of cholesterol the body makes. In most people the body balances the amount of dietary cholesterol by changing cholesterol synthesis in body tissues. Eating excess saturated fat causes the liver to put more cholesterol into the blood circulation and slows down the removal of blood cholesterol. This is why too much saturated fat in the diet is considered to be the most important dietary factor in causing high blood cholesterol levels and increased heart disease risk. Elevated levels of cholesterol in the bloodstream carried by low density lipoproteins (LDL) are associated with an increased risk of heart disease. The LDL cholesterol (“bad cholesterol”) is responsible for cholesterol entering artery walls resulting in blocked arteries. The high-density lipoprotein cholesterol, (HDL), helps move cholesterol from tissues to the liver for removal from the bloodstream. High values of HDL cholesterol (“good cholesterol”) are desirable. Currently, the new perspective on heart disease risk now identifi es the LDL: HDL ratio and the Total: HDL ratio (the sum of all cholesterol components to the “good cholesterol”) as the best indicator of heart disease risk. A review of over 30 studies published in the Journal of the American College of Nutrition in 2008 1 presents evidence that the LDL:HDL ratio is a better indicator of heart disease risk than either indicator alone because, according to the authors, the ratio refl ects the “two-way traffi c” of cholesterol entering and leaving the blood system.

  1. Fernandez ML, Webb D., The LDL to HDL Cholesterol ratio as a valuable tool to evaluate coronary heart disease risk. J Am Coll Nutr, 27(1);1-5,2008.

Protein

Eggs are a highly nutritious food making valuable contributions to one’s diet. A large egg provides six grams of high biological value protein, 10% of the daily value based on a 2,000 calorie diet. In fact, egg protein is the standard against which other food proteins are measured. Amino acids are the building blocks of proteins which the body requires for cells and tissues, regulation of body processes, and source of energy. When proteins are broken down and used for energy they cannot be used to build and repair body tissue since there is little reserve supply of protein in the body. Everyone needs a constant supply of protein to repair body cells as they wear out and to make new body tissues especially during times of growth. The National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine 2006 recommendation is to include 10-35% of daily calorie intake as protein. Recent research has indicated that muscle mass in older adults is better preserved when protein intake approaches the upper range of this recommendation.

Proteins are composed of different combinations of 20 amino acids. The human body needs all 20 amino acids for the synthesis of its wide range of proteins. The body can synthesize 11 of these amino acids, but is unable to make 9 essential amino acids, which must be obtained from the diet. The egg contains all the essential amino acids in a proper proportion to fulfil the needs for human growth and tissue maintenance. The only food that contains a more ideal mix of essential amino acids than an egg is mother’s milk.

Two eggs can be used to equal two ounces of lean meat, which is considered a serving in the Meat, Poultry, Fish, Dry Beans, Eggs, and Nuts Group of the USDA MyPyramid nutrition guidance meal plan. Eggs are lower in cost and in calories than many other animal-protein foods grouped in the same food group.

Duyff, R. The American Dietetic Association’s Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. Chronimed Publishing, Minneapolis, MN. 1998. Dietary Reference Intakes, Institute of Medicine, The National Academies Press, 2006. www.MyPyramid.gov

Choline

 

Choline is an essential nutrient needed for normal function of all cells. It is a critical component of the cell membrane and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine. The human body is dependant upon choline for normal muscle function, lipid transport, fetal development and memory center development. Eggs are an excellent source of the nutrient choline which, like folate, is essential for proper neural tube closure and nervous system function in the developing fetus. In fact, it has been found that dietary choline intakes vary enough in healthy women in the United States (from <300mg to >500mg/day) to significantly influence the risk of birth defects.1 Choline is also needed to control the buildup of homocysteine in the blood by contributing to the production of methionine, an amino acid needed for protein synthesis. Elevated levels of homocysteine in the blood have been associated with increase risk of heart disease. A choline defi cient diet has been shown to signifi cantly increase DNA damage in humans and is the only nutrient defi ciency shown to induce spontaneous carcinoma.2

Two eggs contain about half the recommended daily amount of choline considered an adequate intake. During pregnancy and lactation, recommendations for choline intake are increased. In fact, the placenta delivers choline to the fetus by pumping it against a concentration gradient through the umbilical blood stream, indicating how important choline is for fetal development. Sadly, a review of USDA consumption study data shows that only about 10% of the population is consuming an adequate intake of choline from their diet. Among adults; younger and older women including pregnant women, had the lowest estimated mean intakes of choline.3 Egg intake can help close this unfortunate gap.

  1. Shaw GM et al. Periconceptional dietary intake of choline and betaine and neural tube defects in offspring. Am J Epidemiol, 160, 102-9, 2004.

  2. Sanders LM and Zeisel SH, Choline: Dietary Requirements and Role in Brain Development, Nutr Today, 42(4), 181-6, 2007.

  3. Jensen H et al, Choline in the Diets of US Population: NHANES, 2003-2004 presented at Experimental Biology 2007.

Satiety

One of many reasons we enjoy eating is that food can quell the feeling of hunger and provide us with energy to perform our chosen activities. A food that satisfies the pangs of hunger and gives us sustained energy is one that provides satiety. A major benefit of eating eggs is not only that it satisfies hunger but, it keeps you from needing snacks before the next meal which has been demonstrated to be a valuable asset in any weight reduction and weight maintenance strategy. Researchers at Wayne State University compared the reported feeling of satiety and weight loss of overweight and obese men and women who consumed either an isocaloric egg or bagel based breakfast while following a weight loss diet. They found that compared to an isocaloric, equal weight bagel-based breakfast, the egg-breakfast induced greater satiety and enhanced weight loss by 65% and a 34% greater reduction in waist circumference without a significant difference in blood lipid levels between groups.1

  1. Vander Wal JS et al. Egg breakfast enhances weight loss. Int J Obes advance online pub, 5 August 2008; dol:10.1038/ijo.2008.130

Eye Health

Age related macular degeneration (ARMD) occurs when the macula of the retina deteriorates and central vision becomes affected. ARMD occurs mostly in people over 50 years of age, and is the leading cause of irreversible blindness in the elderly. There presently is no cure for ARMD but laser therapy can be an effective treatment.

New research suggests that ARMD may result from lack of certain nutrients in the diet. Vitamins and minerals, mainly antioxidants found abundantly in fruits and vegetables may reduce the risk of ARMD. One group of vegetable chemicals, carotenoids seem to have a protective effect against ARMD. Carotenoids exist in high concentrations in eye tissues and function as antioxidants to neutralize damage to cells caused by free radicals from sunlight. Carotenoids act as fi lters and form a pigment that protects the eye tissue from blue wavelength light, a potentially destructive band of radiation present in ordinary sunlight.

Lutein and zeaxanthin are two xanthophyll antioxidants making up the macular pigment of the eye and recent research has shown they reduce a person’s risk and slow the progression of ARMD. The chicken egg yolk contains lutein and zeaxanthin within its fat-soluble matrix dispersed with other fat-soluble micronutrients such as vitamin A, vitamin D, and vitamin E. The yolk of the chicken egg provides a readily bioavailable source of lutein and zeaxanthin which has been shown to have greater bioavailablity than lutein from supplements and spinach. Researchers at the University of Massachusetts reported that the addition of one egg to the diet of subjects with an average age of 79 years signifi cantly increases both their serum lutein and zeaxanthin concentrations without elevating serum total cholesterol or the serum concentration of the LDL fraction.1 Similarly, women between the ages of 24 and 59 years were found to have increased serum zeaxanthin and macular pigment optical density after 12 weeks of eating an egg daily with no increase in their serum cholesterol concentrations.2

  1. Goodrow EF et al. Consumption of One Egg Per Day Increases Serum Lutein and Zeaxanthin Concentrations in Older Adults without Altering Serum Lipid and Lipoprotein Cholesterol Concentrations, J Nutr, 136: 2519–2524, 2006.

  2. Wenzel AJ et al. A 12-Wk Egg Intervention Increases Serum Zeaxanthin and Macular Pigment Optical Density in Women, J Nutr, 136(10):2568-73,2006.

Nutrient Density

Eggs were designed by nature to be a complete nutrient reserve for the developing chick. Eggs are an important food for humans because of their high nutrition value at a comparably affordable price. A major concern however is that many Americans are sedentary and need to watch their caloric intake to maintain a healthy weight. Yet within their allowable caloric intake they must obtain all of the essential nutrients needed for health. In order to achieve this goal they need to consume foods that are nutrient dense and keep them from feeling hungry. Nutrient density refers to the quantity of one or more nutrients supplied by a food in relation to its caloric content. Nutrient-dense foods provide a high proportion of a person’s daily diet needs of essential nutrients while supplying a small proportion of the daily need for calories. Eggs are a nutrient dense food because they are an excellent source of high quality protein, provide a wide range of vitamins and minerals, and are relatively low in calories.

One large egg has 72 calories with 13 vitamins and minerals. The amounts of various nutrients supplied in two large eggs are shown in the chart (right). As the nutrient daily values show, eggs provide a wide variety of nutrients for relatively few calories. One large egg offers only 7% of the total daily calorie intake of a person on a 2,000 calorie diet and provides 12.5% DV for protein, and 14% for riboflavin, and 8% or more of the daily value for several other nutrients including vitamins A, D, E, B-6, B-12, folate, iron, phosphorus, and zinc. And, it is important to realize that the egg is one of the few natural sources of vitamin D in the diet. With all of these nutritional benefi ts it is not diffi cult to see why eggs are considered a nutrient dense food.

Conclusion

Limiting egg intake would be a missed opportunity to benefit from the many naturally occurring nutritional benefits found in an egg such as:

  • High quality protein • Excellent source of choline

  • Balanced assortment of essential vitamins and minerals

  • Highly bioavailable antioxidants lutein and zeaxanthin

  • Individual portion sized packaging, only 72 calories per egg offering satiety

  • A moderate fat content

  • A healthy ratio of mono-unsaturated and polyunsaturated fats to saturated fats

  • Easily chewed food

  • Easily prepared

  • Abundantly available

  • Culturally familiar

  • Affordable low cost protein

  • Extensive storage capacity: 4-5 week shelf life when refrigerated

Nutrient Facts

Daily Values (DV): 2 Large Eggs

Calories 144

 

Amount/ Serving

Protein
Vitamin A

Vitamin B12

Vitamin B6

Vitamin D

Vitamin E

One large egg contains 5 gm fat (7.7% DV)), 0 trans fat, 1.5 gm saturated fat (8% DV*), and 212 mg cholesterol (71% DV) 37.0 mg omega-3 fatty acids, 514 mg omega-6 fatty acids. 

*DV = Daily Value based on a 2,000 calorie diet. 

 

%DV*

25%

10%

22%

7%

9%

4%

Amount/ Serving

Folate

Thiamin

Riboflaving

Phosphorus

Zinc

Iron

%DV*

12%

5%

28%

20%

8%

10%