1. 生產雞蛋的畜牧場對自然環境有什麼影響?

一個雞蛋工業中心的研究顯示生產雞蛋的畜牧場的生態足跡在過往50年大大減低。雞蛋生產商透過不斷改良雞隻的飼料,更佳的疾病控制,改善飼養雞隻的設施和減少使用天然資源來達致減低生態足跡的效果。於1960年代相比,畜牧場減少空氣污染排放達71%,減少32%用水,增加27%的雞蛋產量。

 

2. 生產雞蛋的母雞會否被餵食抗生素呢?而這些抗生素又是否殘留在那些雞隻所生的雞蛋內?

蛋農是盡心盡責地生產安全食用和高質素的雞蛋,也盡力保持雞隻健康和遠離疾病。蛋農或會使用美國食品及藥物管理局所所核准的抗生素,但他們一定要遵守美國食品及藥物管理局的的抗生素使用守則,這些守則能確保抗生素不會殘留在那些雞隻所生的雞蛋內。

亦因有效使用疫苗及嚴格遵守農場內的對抗疾病守則。只有為數很少的雞隻需要接受抗生素。那些接受抗生素的雞隻也被獸醫監管,而且使用時間很短,通常只是針對某種疾病或防止一些反複出現的疾病。

最重要的是能貼有"不含抗抗生素"的雞蛋只有從未接受抗生素的雞隻(包括在飼料內和它們飲用的水內)所生的雞蛋才可。而法例亦規定合格的有機飼料的雞隻所生的雞蛋"有機蛋"是一定不能含有抗生素的。

3. 有機雞蛋,走地雞所生的雞蛋,自然放牧雞蛋或其他特別的雞蛋是否比傳統的雞蛋安全?

由商業畜牧場所出產的雞蛋,從處理到運送直至去到市場都受到很多安全守則去保護。在美國所出產的雞蛋都受美國食品及藥物管理局監管,有個別州份更有比一般更多的守則去監管雞蛋生產。只要跟隨這些安全守則,就算不同的環境也能生產安全食用的雞蛋。綜合一些大學為雞蛋生產可持續發展聯盟的研究顯示,三個擁有完全不同飼養雞隻設施的畜牧場所生產的雞蛋,其安全和質素是沒有分別的。

Q: 蛋殼如何保護雞蛋免受細菌入侵?

A: 蛋殼和蛋殼膜能保護雞蛋免受細菌入侵。不同層面的蛋白也會阻攔細菌生長及進入蛋黃,而蛋黃是含有細菌所需的營養。最後一層蛋白由厚厚的纏繞在一起最低的纖維物質組成,稱為卵黃繫帶。卵黃繫帶能夠將蛋黃保持在雞蛋的中央,使其他層面的蛋白能提供蛋黃最有效的保護,免受細菌入侵。

 

composition_chart.gif

5. 是什麼決定雞蛋是白色還是棕色的?

雞隻品種是決定雞蛋顏色的原因。母雞的耳附近範圍的顏色是所生的雞蛋顏色的指標,如發現有白色或淺色的斑點,那將來所生的雞蛋會是白色的。通常白色的母雞是會生產白色的雞蛋,棕色的母雞是會生產棕色的雞蛋。棕色的雞隻一般比較大和需要更多食物去生產雞蛋,那是為什麼棕色的雞蛋通常會較白色的雞蛋昂貴。

6. 走地雞所生的雞蛋是否比困在籠內的雞所生的雞蛋安全食用?

由領先的動物福利科學家,學術機構,非政府組織,雞蛋供應商,餐廳和飲食連鎖店的研究顯示雞隻的飼養設施不會影響雞蛋的質素。不論母雞的飼養地方是如何,所生的雞蛋都受到政府部門所監管,確保安全。

7. 母雞需要多久才生雞蛋?

根據美國農業部所言,母雞需要25小時才生一隻雞蛋,隨後它們需要30分鐘去形成第二隻雞蛋。母雞平均每年生286隻雞蛋。

General Egg Production Questions

Q:  How are egg farms impacting the environment?

A: A study by the Egg Industry Center shows that egg farms have reduced their environmental footprint over the last 50 years through improved hen feed, better disease control, advancements in how hens are housed and a reduction of natural resource use. Compared to 1960, eggs farms have reduced greenhouse gas emissions by 71 percent, are using 32 percent less water while producing 27 percent more eggs. Click here to learn more.

Q:  Are hens given antibiotics? Are there antibiotics in my eggs?

A: Egg farmers are committed to producing safe, high-quality eggs and keeping their hens healthy and free from disease. Egg farms may use a limited number of FDA-approved antibiotics, provided they comply with FDA guidelines for usage. These FDA regulations also are designed to assure antibiotic residues are not passed to eggs.

Due to the effective use of vaccines and on-farm disease prevention, only a small percentage of egg-laying flocks ever receive antibiotics. If they do, it is usually under supervision of a veterinarian and only for a short time to treat a specific disease or to prevent a recurring disease.

It’s important to know eggs can only be labeled as antibiotic-free if egg farmers choose not to use any antibiotics in feed or water as the pullets (young hens) are growing or when hens are laying eggs. Certified organic eggs must be antibiotic-free by regulation.

Q: Are organic, free range, pasture-raised or other types of specialty eggs safer than conventionally raised eggs?

A: Many safeguards are in place on commercial egg farms, through processing and transport, and in the store. Shell eggs produced in the U.S. are subject to oversight from both Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), and several states have additional programs. Provided these safeguards are followed, safe and wholesome eggs can be produced in a variety of housing environments. In comprehensive university research by the Coalition for Sustainable Egg Supply, there were no differences in egg safety and quality between the three different hen housing environments that were studied.

Q: How does the shell help protect an egg from bacteria?

A: The shell and shell membrane of an egg can prevent bacteria from entering the egg. The layers of white also discourage bacteria growth and movement toward the yolk, which contains the nutrients bacteria need. The last layer of white is composed of thick ropey strands, called chalazae, which holds the yolk centered in the egg where all the layers give it maximum protection from bacteria.

 

composition_chart.gif

Q: What determines whether an egg is white or brown?

A: The breed of the chicken determines egg shell color. The color of a hen’s ear area is the color indicator, with a white or light spot meaning white eggs. Usually, white hens lay white eggs, and brown hens lay brown eggs. Brown chickens are usually larger and require more food to make an egg, which is why brown eggs may cost more than white eggs.

Q: Are cage-free eggs safer than eggs from hens housed in cages?

A: Research by leading animal welfare scientists, academic institutions, non-government organizations, egg suppliers, and restaurant/foodservice and food retail companies shows that housing system type does not influence egg quality. All eggs, regardless of how a hen is housed, are safe and regulated by a number of agencies.

Q: How often does a hen lay an egg?

A: It takes about 25 hours from ovulation until a hen lays an egg. The hen then begins forming another egg 30 minutes after it lays an egg. The average hen lays 286 eggs per year, according to USDA.