問: 赤蛋是否比白蛋更有營養?

答: 蛋殼的顏色在決於母雞的品種。由於許多消費者喜歡白殼蛋,所以生產者大都飼養生產白殼蛋的白種力康雞。住在新英格蘭地區的消費者往往喜歡赤蛋,所以生產者飼養Rhode Island Red的品種來供應赤殼蛋。蛋殼的顏色跟蛋的品質、味道或營養價值是無關的,只是母雞品種的關係。不過,赤殼蛋通常在價格上比白殼蛋高,因為生產赤殼蛋的母雞身形比較大,需要更多的飼料來生產雞蛋。

問: 吃生蛋是否安全?

答: 公共衛生局和雞蛋生產商有警告提防食用生蛋或輕熟蛋,因為雞蛋有可能被腸炎沙門氏菌,一種可導致食源性疾病的細菌所污染。雞蛋和其他動物產品只有很些微的機會含腸炎沙門氏菌。感染食源性疾病最大風險的是孕婦、老人、幼兒、有長期病患及免疫系統受損的人。這些人應避免食用生肉和未經煮熟的動物類食品。消費者都必須緊記,雖然接觸腸炎沙門氏菌的風險很低,但亦必須安全地處理雞蛋和其他動物類食品。所以不建議任何人吃生蛋。腸炎沙門氏菌可在能烹煮食物的溫度下被殺死,一般建議是將蛋徹底煮熟至蛋黃及蛋白結實為止。

: 在懷孕或餵哺母乳期間進食雞蛋,有沒有問題?

: 在懷孕或餵哺母乳期間進食雞蛋是沒有問題的,當然雞蛋要經過適當處理和烹調才可。其實,根據雞蛋營養中心所言,雞蛋內的多種營養有助健康懷孕,兒童成長發育和肌肉密度。雞蛋也是膽鹼最好的來源,這在胎兒及嬰兒的腦部發展擔當重要角色。懷孕時吸取足夠膽鹼能有效防止嬰兒神經管缺陷。如想得到更多資料,請到雞蛋營養中心。www.eggnutritioncenter.org

問: 維生素和礦物質位於雞蛋的哪一個部份?

答: 在雞蛋的黃色或蛋黃部分含有比蛋白較高的維生素和礦物質。請參閱以下圖表有關雞蛋的各種營養素。

: 走地雞所生的雞蛋或吃有機飼料的雞隻所生的雞蛋,其營養是否比其他雞蛋好?

: 不同雞隻的飼養環境,其所生的雞蛋內裡的營養是沒有太大分別的。其實,一隻雞蛋含有不同數量的13種不同維他命,礦物質和高質素蛋白質。雖然因為飼料不同,雞隻所生的雞蛋的顏色也有所分別,不過白色和棕色的雞蛋所含有的營養是一樣的。但例外的是添加營養成分的雞蛋。添加Omega 3的雞蛋就是其中一種添加營養成分的雞蛋,所生這種雞蛋的雞隻所吃的飼料內,因加入亞麻籽,魚油或藻油,因此所生的雞蛋也含有這些營養。如想得到更多資料,請到雞蛋營養中心。www.eggnutritioncenter.org

問: 什麼是有機和自由放養的雞蛋,它們有什麼不同營養?

答: 有機雞蛋是由用“有機”飼料餵養的母雞所生產,種植“有機”飼料是不噴灑農藥、化學肥料或殺菌劑的。此外,飼料內亦沒有加入殺蟲劑、除草劑、殺菌劑或添加劑。有機雞蛋和普通雞蛋的營養價值是沒有分別的。自由放養的雞蛋是由戶外飼養或每天都能在戶外活動的母雞所生產,母雞可以自由地跑來跑去,但如果天氣不好就會待在室內。真正的自由放養雞蛋只按季節性在美國供應。自由放養雞蛋也可以代表母雞是在開放式的室內生的雞蛋,而不是在籠舍內。自由放養的雞蛋和普通雞蛋的營養價值和膽固醇水平並沒有分別,由於生產成本,自由放養的雞蛋比較昂貴。

: 那裡才可以知道更多關於雞蛋營養的知識?

: 一隻雞蛋只含有大約70卡路里,但這是高質素蛋白質和多種營養的天然來源。研究建議,雞蛋可在重量管理,強健肌肉,健康懷孕,腦部功能及眼睛健康,或更多更多健康管理上扮演重要角色。如想得到更多資料,請到雞蛋營養中心。www.eggnutritioncenter.org

: 最適當烹調雞蛋的溫度是多少?

 

: 用適當的溫度去烹調雞蛋能消滅可能存在的細菌。蛋白能在華氏144至149度或攝氏62.2至65度凝固,而蛋黃能在華氏140至158度或攝氏65至70度凝固。食物溫度計能迅速地幫你測定溫度。

: 食剩的雞蛋應該如何處理?

: 食剩的餸菜如含有雞蛋,應存放在冰箱內。在2至3天內,應完全吃掉,進食前也應將含有雞蛋的食剩餸菜再加熱煮熟才可。如含有雞蛋的食剩餸菜已存放超過3天,就算是存放在冰箱內,也不應再次進食。

: 烚熟的雞蛋能存放多久也能安全食用呢?為何烚熟的雞蛋比未煮熟的新鮮雞蛋更快變壞?

 

: 雞蛋在烚熟後兩小時內應存放在冰箱內,一星期內吃完。未煮熟的新鮮雞蛋因有保護層才能不被細菌感染,但烚蛋通常也將那保護層洗去,使細菌容易進入。

: 什麼是交差感染?要怎樣才可避免?

: 細菌可由人傳播到食物,也可由一種食物傳播到另一種食物,甚至由用具傳播到其他用具。要防止交差感染,最重要是將食物分開,尤其是生肉,海鮮和家禽肉。在處理生雞蛋的前和後要用暖水和梘液洗手和清洗器皿。

: 食用有裂痕的雞蛋是否安全?

 

: 請不要購買有裂痕的雞蛋。因為細菌能由裂痕進入雞蛋內。如果是購買後,不小心引致雞蛋留有裂痕,需盡快打開雞蛋,存放在清潔的容器內,保持冷藏,兩天內食用,烹調時也需將雞蛋完全煮熟。

Screen Shot 2020-06-14 at 8.41.28 PM.png

一隻大蛋的營養素含量
新鮮原整的生蛋

 

營養物質

卡路里(熱量)

總脂肪 (克)

飽和脂肪 (克)

反式脂肪 (克)

膽固醇 (毫克)

鈉 (毫克)

碳水化合物 (克)

蛋白質 (克)

維生素 A (IU)

維生素 D (毫克)

鈣 (毫克)

硫胺素

維生素 B6 (毫克)

維生素 C (毫克)

鐵 (毫克)

核黃素 (毫克)

葉酸 (微克)

維生素 B12 (微克)

鋅 (毫克)

磷 (毫克)

葉黃素和玉米黃素 (微克)

膽鹼 (毫克)

採取樣本程序是根據美國農業部,農業研究服務2007。全國營養資料庫標準參考文獻#20。營養資料研究室。一般食物所含不同營養內之膽鹼含量與雞蛋白,蛋黃和全隻雞蛋的資料庫。

*Sadler, Strain and Caballero (1999) 【人類營養百科全書】San Diego, Academic Press

 

  Whole Egg

72

5

1.5

0.05*

212

70

0.4

6.3

244

18

27

0.03

0.07

0

0.09

0.24

24

0.65

0.56

96

166

125

White

16

0.06

0

0

0

55

0.2

3.6

0

0

2

0

0

0

0.03

0.15

1

0.03

0.01

5

0

1.1

Yolk

54

4.5

1.6

0.05*

210

8

0.6

2.7

245

18

22

0.03

0.06

0

0.46

0.09

25

0.33

0.39

66

186

113.3

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Are brown eggs more nutritious than white eggs?

A: The color of the egg’s shell is determined by the breed of the hen. Since many consumers prefer white eggs producers most often raise White Leghorn hens, which produce eggs with white shells. Consumers who live in the New England area often prefer brown shelled eggs, so egg producers there raise breeds such as the Rhode Island Red which produces brown shell eggs. The color of the shell has nothing to do with egg quality, flavor, or nutritional value, only the breed of hen laying the eggs. However, brown shell eggs are usually slightly higher in price than white eggs because the brown shell producing hens are larger birds and require more feed for the eggs produced.

Q: Is it safe to eat raw eggs?

A: Public health authorities and the egg industry continue to warn against consuming raw eggs or lightly cooked eggs. The egg might be contaminated with Salmonella Enteritidis (SE) a bacterium that can cause food borne illness. Eggs and some other animal products have a small possibility of containing SE. The risk of food borne illness is greatest for those who are pregnant, elderly, very young, or who have medical problems resulting in an impaired immune system. These individuals should avoid any raw and undercooked animal foods. Everyone needs to remember that while there is a small risk of contacting SE, consumers need to treat eggs and other raw animal foods safely. It is not recommended that anyone eat raw eggs. SE is killed by proper cooking temperatures and it is recommended that eggs be cooked until both the yolk and the whites are firm, not runny.

Q: Where are the vitamins and minerals located in the egg?

A: The yolk or yellow portion of the egg contains a higher proportion of the egg’s vitamins and minerals than the white. Please refer to the chart (right) for the list of nutrients contained in one egg.

Q: What are organic and free-range eggs and do they differ nutritionally?

A: Organic eggs are eggs produced by hens fed “organic” feeds grown without pesticides, chemical or commercial fertilizers. In addition, there are no pesticides, herbicides, or fungicides added to the feed. There are no known nutritional differences between organic eggs and regular eggs. Free-range eggs are produced by hens raised outdoors or with daily access to the outdoors. The hens are free to run around, but in the event of bad weather the hens are kept inside. True free-range eggs are only available on a seasonal basis in the United States. The term free-range can also refer to eggs produced by hens raised inside on an open floor rather than in cages. Free range eggs do not differ from regular eggs in terms of nutritional value or cholesterol level; however, they are more expensive due to production costs.


Q: Are raw eggs safe to eat?

A: Raw eggs or any products containing raw eggs should not be eaten. Even though the likelihood that an egg might contain bacteria is very small, the only way to ensure that any bacteria may be present is killed is to properly cook the egg. According to the FDA Food Code, eggs for immediate consumption can be cooked to 145°F for 15 seconds. If the eggs are to be used in a recipe with other food items, dilute the eggs with liquid or other ingredients, such as milk or sugar (at least ¼ cup liquid or sugar per egg as in custard) and cook the egg mixture to 160°F, which will destroy harmful bacteria in a few seconds. Adequate cooking brings eggs and other foods to a temperature high enough to destroy bacteria that might be present. If a recipe calls for raw eggs, use pasteurized shell eggs or pasteurized egg products.

Q: Where can I learn more about egg nutrition?

A: Eggs are a natural source of high-quality protein and a number of other nutrients – at only about 70 calories per egg. Nutrition research suggests eggs can play a role in weight management, muscle strength, healthy pregnancy, brain function, eye health and more. For more information on all egg nutrition questions, visit the Egg Nutrition Center (www.eggnutritioncenter.org).

Q: Are cage-free or organic eggs more nutritious than other types of eggs?

A: The nutrient content of eggs is similar regardless of the hen housing environment. In fact, one large egg has varying amounts of 13 essential vitamins and minerals and high-quality protein. There’s also no nutritional difference between white or brown eggs; the different shell color is determined by the breed of hen that produced the egg. One exception is nutritionally-enriched eggs. Omega 3 enriched eggs are one example – flaxseed, fish oil or algal oils are added to the hen’s diet so they produce eggs with these nutrients. For other egg nutrition questions, visit the Egg Nutrition Center (www.eggnutritioncenter.org).

Q: Can I eat eggs if I’m pregnant or breastfeeding?

A: Eggs are as safe to eat during pregnancy or nursing as any other time of life – provided they are handled properly and cooked adequately. In fact, according to the Egg Nutrition Center, essential nutrients within the egg can support a healthy pregnancy, growth and development of children, and muscle mass and function during aging. Eggs are an excellent source of choline, which plays an essential role in fetal and infant brain development, and adequate choline during pregnancy may help prevent neural tube birth defects. For other egg nutrition questions, visit the Egg Nutrition Center (www.eggnutritioncenter.org).

Q: What should I do with leftovers containing eggs?

A: Promptly after serving, refrigerate any leftovers containing eggs. Thoroughly reheat leftovers and eat within two to three days. Without tasting them, discard any egg-containing leftovers that have been refrigerated more than three days.

A good resource to help manage leftovers is the USDA FoodKeeper app. This application provides food storage information and enables alerts to be set up to contact you before food spoils.

Q: How long are hard-cooked eggs safe to eat? Why do hard-cooked eggs spoil faster than fresh eggs?

 

A: Hard-cooked eggs should be refrigerated within two hours of cooking and used within one week.   Shell eggs have a protective coating that is washed away when they are hard-cooked. This leaves the pores in the shell open for bacteria to enter.

Q: What exactly is cross-contamination and what should I do about it?

A: Bacteria can spread from people to food, or from one food or piece of equipment to another. This is called cross-contamination. To help prevent cross-contamination, it’s important to separate foods—especially raw meat, seafood, eggs, and poultry—from other foods. Also wash hands, utensils and surfaces with warm, soapy water before and after handling raw eggs.

Q: What is the best temperature to cook an egg?

 

A: Adequate cooking brings eggs to a temperature high enough to destroy bacteria that might be present in the egg yolk or egg white. Egg white coagulates at 144-149° F, yolk coagulates at 149-158° F, and whole eggs coagulate at 144-158° F. A food thermometer is an invaluable tool to quickly check for the right temperature.

Q: Is it safe to use eggs that have cracks?

 

A: Never purchase cracked eggs, because bacteria can enter eggs through cracks in the shell. If eggs crack on the way home, break them into a clean container, cover it tightly, keep refrigerated, and use within two days. When preparing, be sure to cook eggs thoroughly, with both the white and yolk firm.

Screen Shot 2020-06-14 at 8.41.28 PM.png

Nutrient Content of One Large Egg
Whole, Raw, Fresh

 

Nutrient

Calories

Total Fat (g)

Saturated Fat (g)

Trans Fat (g)

Cholesterol (mg)

Sodium (mg)

Carbohydrate (g)

Protein (g)

Vitamin A (IU)

Vitamin D (mg)

Calcium (mg)

Thiamine

Vitamin B6 (mg)

Vitamin C (mg)

Iron (mg)

Riboflavin (mg)

Folate (mcg)

Vitamin B12 (mcg)

Zinc (mg)

Phosphorus (mg)

Lutein & Zeaxanthin (mcg)

Choline (mg)

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. 2007. USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Release #20. Nutrient Data Laboratory (www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp) USDA Database for the Choline Content of Common Foods Differences in nutrient levels between egg white, egg yolk and whole egg are due to sampling procedure

*Sadler, Strain and Caballero (1999) Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. San Diego, Academic Press

​​

 

  Whole Egg

72

5

1.5

0.05*

212

70

0.4

6.3

244

18

27

0.03

0.07

0

0.09

0.24

24

0.65

0.56

96

166

125

White

16

0.06

0

0

0

55

0.2

3.6

0

0

2

0

0

0

0.03

0.15

1

0.03

0.01

5

0

1.1

Yolk

54

4.5

1.6

0.05*

210

8

0.6

2.7

245

18

22

0.03

0.06

0

0.46

0.09

25

0.33

0.39

66

186

113.3