Q: 可不可以冷凍生雞蛋?

A: 如果你有太多雞蛋而未能及時利用,冷凍生雞蛋是其中一個選擇。將雞蛋打開,打至剛剛將蛋黃與蛋白混和,儲存在一個密封的容器內。雞蛋在結冰的狀態下能最長儲存一年。如想已結冰的雞蛋再次使用,應放在冰箱解凍或利用凍水解凍。不要將結冰的雞蛋閒置一角,等它自然解凍,這樣會令細菌容易滋生。

Q: 為什麼雞蛋需要冷藏?

A: 在美國,多項食物安全守則建議,雞蛋是需要冷藏的,這也是一項法例。美國農業部堅持,要對抗沙門氏菌感染,雞蛋必須要保持清潔直至到達消費者手上。所以,雞蛋在商業畜牧場(擁有3,000隻雞或以上的畜牧場),必須要徹底清洗,然後立即冷藏。清洗過程能去除雞蛋有可能沾染到的污染物,例如肥料。當雞蛋冷藏後,最重要的是保持冷藏。一隻經冷藏後的雞蛋在室溫下會出水,促進細菌滋生,細菌能透過有很多氣孔的蛋殼進入,所以,經冷藏後的雞蛋不應在離開冰箱後放置兩小時或以上。

Q: 將蛋殼放回雞蛋盒內是否安全?

A: 不是,不要將蛋殼放回仍存放其他新鮮雞蛋的盒內,因為細菌有機會依存在雞蛋的外表和裡面。而且還能大大增加透過手,器皿或空氣等傳播細菌的風險。我們還建議不要重複使用雞蛋盒,因為雞蛋盒能儲存細菌,雞蛋使用後應將雞蛋盒拋棄。

Q: 雞蛋盒應否重用?

A: 美國農業部的食物安全監察部明確指出,一些例如便用發泡材料的肉類托盤,食物盤和雞蛋盒應被視為一次性用具。美國的商業畜牧場會根據雞蛋安全指引,在包裝前會將雞蛋洗淨,使用全新雞蛋盒,用以減輕有可能依附在蛋殼上的細菌。但細菌也有可能在市場或家庭內再次形成,所以不應重複使用雞蛋盒。

Q: 在雞蛋盒上有什麼安全指引?

A: 美國食品及藥物管理局要求所有雞蛋盒上有以下語句:

安全指引:為防止細菌引起疾病,需保持雞蛋冷藏,烹調雞蛋直至蛋黃全熟,烹調含有雞蛋的食物至全熟。

Q: 什麼是雞蛋分級制,這分級制是不是要強制性的?

A: 雞蛋分級制是雞蛋質素的指標,但不是強制執行的,業界可以自由選擇是否將雞蛋分級,但雞蛋檢測是必須的,也是強制一定要進行的。如果生產商選擇付款並交由美國農業部將他們的雞蛋進行分級的話,他們便能獲得由美國農業部所發出的盾形紋徽,這盾形紋徽用作顯示雞蛋的級別,重量和大小,整個過程由美國農業部的級別員監管。而政府監察人員會對一些沒有使用美國農業部雞蛋分級服務的生產商進行監察,而這些雞蛋,只會被稱為"Grade A",而且不會有美國農業部所發出的盾形紋徽。

Q: 如何將雞蛋安全地送到市場?

A: 美國政府規定,運送食物的車輛只能運送食物。並要求遵守以下規則:

  • 雞蛋必須包裝妥當,儲存和運送時必須冷藏,冷藏溫度不得超過華氏45度即攝氏7.2度。

  • 所有包裝好的雞蛋,必須貼上"必須冷藏"的標籤。

  • 所有進口美國的雞蛋,必須附上簽發證明,證明他們的雞蛋儲存及運送時的溫度沒有超過華氏45度即攝氏7.2度。

Q: 雞蛋買回來後是否需要清洗?

A: 只要是附有美國農業部所發出的盾形紋徽的雞蛋,我們認為不需要亦不建議去清洗。反而清洗這些雞蛋,會增加感染細菌的風險,因為用來清洗的水有可能會透過雞蛋殼上的孔進入雞蛋內。母雞產蛋時會把一層保護膜附帶在雞蛋上。在畜牧場內,法例要求由美國農業部進行分級的雞蛋要經清洗及消毒後,才可包裝。

Q: 購買雞蛋時有什麼需要考慮?

A: 當購買由大型商業畜牧場出產的雞蛋(擁有3,000隻雞或以上的畜牧場),必須注意以下事項:

  • 購買的雞蛋必須儲存在低溫柜內。

  • 購買的雞蛋必須是清潔和完整無缺的。

  • 不要買已過期的雞蛋。

  • 盡量選擇帶有美國農業部所發出的盾形紋徽或被稱為"Grade A"的雞蛋,所有雞蛋應符合標籤上註明的等級和大少。

  • 選擇一些符合你需要和經濟效益的雞蛋。

  • 如購買雞蛋製品,請確認包裝是否密封和從被未打開使用。

Q: 最理想儲存雞蛋的方法是什麼?

A: 最理想儲存雞蛋的方法就是將雞蛋放在你買回來時的雞蛋盒內,這樣你就可以隨時確認包裝日期和到期日。而那雞蛋盒必須冷藏至華氏45度即攝氏7.2度以下,儲存位置不要在或靠近冰箱門,這些地方會因為冰箱經常開關而使溫度不穩定,已被冷藏的雞蛋不應在室溫下置放多於兩小時。

Q: 我突然發覺我將整盒雞蛋置放在桌上整夜,這樣是否仍然能安全食用?

A: 不是,雞蛋一經冷藏,便必須保持冷藏的狀態。保持冷藏對安全是非常重要的。一隻經冷藏後的雞蛋在室溫下會出水,促進細菌滋生,細菌能透過其實有很多孔的蛋殼進入,所以,經冷藏後的雞蛋不應在室溫下置放多於兩小時。

Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.51.11 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.31 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.50 AM.pn

Egg Storage and Handling

Q: Can I freeze raw eggs?

A: Freezing is an option if you have more eggs on hand then you can use. Remove eggs from their shells, beat until just blended, and place in a sealed container. Eggs can be frozen for up to one year. To use frozen eggs, properly thaw them in the refrigerator or under running cold water. Never thaw eggs on the counter as this may promote the growth of harmful bacteria! Once thawed cook eggs thoroughly.

Q: Why should eggs be refrigerated?

A: In the United States, it’s more than a food safety recommendation that eggs be refrigerated – it’s the law. The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) determined that the best way to fight salmonella contamination is by making sure eggs are clean before they reach consumers. So, on commercial egg farms (those that have 3,000 hens or more) it is required that eggs are thoroughly washed and immediately refrigerated before they leave the farm. The washing process removes any contaminants, such as manure, with which the eggs may have come in contact. Once eggs have been refrigerated, it is critical they remain that way. A cool egg at room temperature can sweat, facilitating the growth of bacteria that could enter the egg through its porous shell. Refrigerated eggs should not be left out more than two hours.

Q: Is it safe to keep used egg shells in the carton?

A: No, you should never put egg shells back in the carton after cracking them if there are still intact eggs left in the carton. Bacteria has the potential to be on the outside, as well as the inside of an egg, and mixing cracked eggs with intact eggs greatly increases the risk of bacteria transfer by hands, utensils, air, etc. We would also recommend never reusing egg cartons as they can be a reservoir for bacteria. Throw away egg cartons as soon as the eggs are all used.

Q: Is it safe to reuse egg cartons?

A: USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is clear on the subject, saying items such as foam meat trays, convenience food dishes and egg cartons should be considered one-time-use packaging. Commercial egg farmers who follow the FDA’s Egg Safety Rule wash and sanitize eggs before packing them in clean, new cartons, eliminating bacteria that may have been present on the shell. But bacteria could creep back into the picture as eggs are handled at stores and in homes. It’s a good idea to discard used egg cartons and not reuse them. Recycle them, if you can.

Egg shells should never be put back in the carton after cracking them if there are still intact eggs left in the carton. Bacteria has the potential to be on the outside, as well as the inside of an egg, and mixing cracked eggs with intact eggs greatly increases the risk of bacteria transfer by hands, utensils, air, etc.

Q: What safe handling instructions are on egg cartons?

A: FDA requires all cartons of raw, shell eggs not treated to destroy Salmonella carry the following statement:

SAFE HANDLING INSTRUCTIONS: To prevent illness from bacteria: Keep eggs refrigerated, cook eggs until yolks are firm, and cook foods containing eggs thoroughly.

Q: What is grading of eggs, and is it mandatory?

A: Grading is an indication of quality and is voluntary, while inspection (for wholesomeness and safety) is mandatory. Companies that choose to have their eggs graded pay for this service from U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). The USDA grade shield on the carton means the eggs were graded for quality and checked for weight (size) under the supervision of a trained USDA grader. Compliance with quality standards, grades, and weights is monitored by USDA. State agencies monitor egg packers who do not use the USDA grading service, and those cartons will bear a term such as “Grade A” without the USDA shield.

Q: How are eggs transported safely to stores?

A: Vehicles transporting food must be dedicated to only transport food, per federal law, which requires:

  • Shell eggs packed for consumers be stored and transported under refrigeration at an ambient (surrounding) air temperature not to exceed 45° F;

  • All packed shell eggs be labeled with a statement that refrigeration is required; and

  • Any shell eggs imported into the United States and packed for consumer use are to include a certification that they have been stored and transported at an ambient temperature of no greater than 45° F.

Q: Should you wash eggs after purchasing in a grocery store?

A: No, it’s not necessary or recommended to wash eggs that have a USDA grade shield or mark on the carton. In fact, washing these eggs may actually increase the risk of contamination because the wash water can be “sucked” into the egg through the pores in the shell. When the chicken lays the egg, a protective coating is put on the outside by the hen. At the egg processing plant, government regulations require that USDA-graded eggs be carefully washed and sanitized before being packed.

Q: What points should you consider when buying eggs?

A: When purchasing commercially-produced eggs (those coming from farms with 3,000 or more hens):

  • Always purchase eggs from a refrigerated case.

  • Choose eggs with clean, uncracked shells.

  • Don’t buy out-of-date eggs.

  • Look for the USDA grade shield or mark. Graded eggs must meet standards for quality and size.

  • Choose the size most useful and economical for your lifestyle.

  • When purchasing egg products or substitutes, look for containers that are tightly sealed and unopened.

  • Click here to learn what different labels, like UEP Certified or cage-free, indicate.

Q: What’s the best way to store eggs?

A: The best way to store eggs is to keep them in their carton, so you can check the Julian date (the date the eggs were packed) or expiration date. The carton should be placed in the coldest part of the refrigerator at 45 °F or lower – not in the door, where temperatures may fluctuate when it is opened and closed. Refrigerated eggs should not be left out more than two hours.

Q: I just realized I left the egg carton on the kitchen counter overnight. Are the eggs safe to use?

A: No, after eggs are refrigerated, it is important they stay that way. Maintaining a consistent, cool temperature is critical to safety. A cold egg left out at room temperature can sweat, facilitating bacteria growth. Refrigerated eggs should not be left out more than two hours before re-refrigeration.

Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.51.11 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.31 AM.pn