足夠的營養,不但可以令胚胎和胎兒健康成長,維持孕婦理想的身體狀況,而且對懷孕前8個星期也十分重要。

Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.45.37 AM.pn

當懷孕時,孕婦需要更加多維他命。某種維他命例如葉酸及維他命B6與礦物質例如鐵質及碘,比起沒有懷孕的女性,孕婦需要吸收多近一倍,因為這牽涉到細胞代謝及繁殖。其他新發現的營養素雖然未被介定為維他命或礦物質,但已顯示能有助提升胎兒至嬰兒期和之後的正常發展。

膽鹼是一種重要的營養素,對記憶及肌肉控制有莫大的關係。膽鹼代謝與葉酸及維他命B12代謝也有密切的關係,這關係能由半胱腰酸製造氨基酸蛋氨酸。雞蛋是日常飲食中膽鹼的理想來源,實驗証明,這能提高胎兒腦部發展和記憶,甚至對胎兒出生後至成人也有幫助。在雞蛋裏也能找到類胡蘿蔔素的葉黃素和玉米黃素,這些物質能保護眼睛,還對老年人有關的視力衰退等疾病也有幫助。

雞蛋提供大量維他命B, 包括葉酸,維他命B6和比較容易吸收的鐵質。眾所周知,當懷孕時嚴重缺乏鐵質,尤其對懷孕前半段時,是十分容易導致早產,嬰兒體重過輕,和增加出生後數星期內夭折的風險。

最近的研究指出,蛋黃是嬰兒攝取鐵質的良好食物來源,尤其是對4-6個月大的嬰兒,因為該時期的嬰兒會逐漸將胎兒時吸收的鐵質耗盡,所以從飲食中吸取鐵質,對維持健康變為十分重要。在美國臨床營養學雜誌(6/2002)中發表一項研究指出,無論餵哺母乳或奶粉,6-12個月的嬰兒同時進食蛋黃,會較沒有進食蛋黃的嬰兒攝取更多鐵質。研究中亦指出,進食蛋黃或蛋白並不會提高抗體水平。另外,最近亦發現如嬰兒攝取足夠的維他命D,可以有效降低80%形成糖尿病的風險。而含有天然維他命D的日常食物並不太多,而雞蛋便是其中的一個選擇。

Pregnancy and Infant Nutritional Needs

Adequate nutrition, even as early as 8 weeks before pregnancy begins, can help to ensure proper growth during critical stages of embryonic and fetal development and maintain optimal health of the mother as well.

Vitamin needs increase considerably during pregnancy. Certain vitamins such as folate and vitamin B6, and minerals such as iron and iodide, are needed in quantities nearly double that of nonpregnant females due to their involvement in cell metabolism and reproduction. Other nutrients newly found to be essential for health are not yet classified as either vitamin or mineral but have been shown to be necessary for promotion of normal development of the fetus into infancy and beyond.

Choline is an essential nutrient that is associated with memory storage and muscle control. Choline metabolism is closely inter-related with the metabolism of folate and vitamin B12 to produce the amino acid methionine from homocysteine. Eggs are an excellent dietary source of choline, which in laboratory studies has been shown to enhance fetal brain development and memory function even into old age. The carotenoids lutein and zeaxanthin, also found in eggs, have been found to protect eyes from illness associated with vision loss in the elderly.

Eggs contribute many B vitamins including folate and vitamin B6 as well as a readily absorbable form of iron. It is well known that severe iron deficiency in pregnancy, especially during the first half of pregnancy, may lead to preterm delivery, low birth weight, and increased risk for fetal death in the first weeks after birth.

Most recently, research has indicated that egg yolks are a good food source of absorbable iron for infants even after the first 4-6 months when their fetal stores of iron becomes depleted and dietary iron is essential for continued health. In a new study published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (June 2002), both breastfed and formula fed infants age 6 to 12 months who consumed egg yolks had improved iron status when compared with infants that did not have egg yolks. In fact, this study also found that antibody levels specific to egg yolk or egg white were no higher for the group that received the egg yolks. Other recent findings have shown that infants who consumed adequate amounts of vitamin D had an 80% lower risk of developing diabetes. Again, eggs are one of the few foods that are a natural dietary source of vitamin D.

Room 1310, Olympia Plaza,

243-255 King’s Road,

North Point, Hong Kong

Tel: 852-2890-2908

Fax: 852-2895-5546

E-mail: hkoffice@usapeec.com.hk

  • Facebook
  • Instagram