研究簡述

在2008年時,歐洲營養月刊(European Journal of Nutrition)刊登了來自薩里大學(Surrey University)的一份報告,內裡提供證據証明每天進食兩隻雞蛋所增加的膽固醇,並不會令正在進行中等程度瘦身的人的血漿中總膽固醇量提升。因此,報告不建議因為減重,而不進食高膽固醇食物。(1)

在2007年,科學醫療監測雙周刊(Medical Science Monitor)刊登了一項由9,500人參與的研究項目顯示,每天吃一至兩隻雞蛋,並不會提高健康的成年人患心臟病和中風的機會。而且這項研究項目更指出進食雞蛋甚至和降低血壓有關。(2)

同年2007年,另一份研究報告在實驗生物學會議(Experimental Biology Conference)發表,該份報告指出進食雞蛋只會增加少於1%患心臟病風險,而且其他風險因素也計算在內。研究人員將進食雞蛋而所得的營養一併考慮後,認為被廣泛認定減少進食雞蛋的觀念可能帶有誤導成份。(3)

在2006年,營養快報(Nutrition Bulletin)刊登了一份科學研究評論,指出在過去30年的數據顯示,進食雞蛋對血液內的膽固醇和患心臟病的風險不會有很大的影響。該評論的作者更指出進食雞蛋其中幾項好處,包括雞蛋提供高質素蛋白質。而且更認為在減重減卡路里計劃內,加入進食一至兩隻雞蛋的項目是值得推薦的。(4)

在2005年,由耶魯疾病防止中心(Yale Prevention Research Center)的研究員進行的一個為期六個星期的研究顯示,每天為健康膳食加入兩隻雞蛋,並沒有令正常或中等偏高膽固醇的年輕或中年男性及女性,血液內的膽固醇顯著增加。(5)

在2000年,一份評論關於由美國營養大學(American College of Nutrition)所進行的25項研究顯示。對身體健康的男女來說,每天吃一隻雞蛋和增加患心臟病的風險是沒有關係的,就算連同人們因其他飲食所帶來患心臟病風險的因素一併考慮,也是沒有關係。(6)

在1999年,哈佛大學研究並收集超過一萬名男女的數據顯示,每日進食少過一隻雞蛋和每日進食多過一隻雞蛋,對患心臟病的風險沒有明顯分別。每日進食一隻雞蛋也不大可能會對患心臟病的風險和中風構成重大影響。(7)

參考文獻:

  1. Harman Nicola L, Leeds, Anthony R, and Griffin, Bruce A. Increased dietary cholesterol does not increase plasma low density lipoprotein when accompanied by an energy-restricted diet and weight loss. European Journal of Nutrition.2008; 47:287-293

  2. Qureshi A, et al. Regular egg consumption does not increase the risk of stroke or cardiovascular diseases. Medical Science Monitor. 2007; 13(1): CR1-8.

  3. Tran NL, et al. Balancing and communicating risks and benefits associated with egg consumption – a relative risk study. Presented at Experimental Biology 2007, Washington, D.C.6 Lee A and Griffin B. Dietary cholesterol, eggs and coronary heart disease risk in perspective. Nutrition Bulletin (British Nutrition Foundation). 2006; 31:21-27.

  4. Lee A and Griffin B. Dietary cholesterol, eggs and coronary heart disease risk in perspective. Nutrition Bulletin (British Nutrition Foundation). 2006; 31:21-27.

  5. Katz DL, et al. Egg consumption and endothelial function: a randomized controlled crossover trial. Int J Cardiol. 2005; 99:65-70.

  6. Kritchevsky S and Kritchvesky D. Egg consumption and coronary heart disease: an epidemiological overview. J Am Coll Nutr. 2000; 19(5): 549S-555S.

  7. Hu FB, et al. A prospective study of egg consumption and risk of cardiovascular disease in men and women. JAMA. 1999; 281:1387-94.

Salmonella2.jpg

Research Snapshot

A 2008 study from Surrey University published in the European Journal of Nutrition provides evidence that increasing dietary cholesterol intake by eating two eggs a day does not increase total plasma cholesterol when accompanied by moderate weight loss. The study authors concluded that cholesterol-rich foods should not be excluded from dietary advice for weight loss. (1)

A 2007 study of 9,500 people reported in Medical Science Monitor showed that eating one or two eggs a day did not increase the risk of heart disease or stroke among healthy adults. The study noted that eating eggs may actually be associated with a decrease in blood pressure. (2)

A study presented at the Experimental Biology conference in 2007 showed that egg consumption contributed less than one percent of the risk for heart disease when other adjustable risk factors were taken into account. The researchers concluded that wide-sweeping recommendations to limit egg consumption may be misguided, particularly when eggs' nutritional contributions are considered. (3)

In 2006, Nutrition Bulletin published a review of scientific studies from the past 30 years showing that eating eggs daily does not have a significant impact on blood cholesterol or heart disease risk. The authors noted several benefits of egg consumption – including the high-quality protein eggs provide – and argued that consumption of one to two eggs a day should be actively encouraged as part of a calorie-restricted weight-loss plan. (4)

A six-week study conducted by researchers at the Yale Prevention Research Center in 2005 showed that adding two eggs a day to a healthful diet did not significantly increase blood cholesterol levels in young or middle-aged men and women with normal or even moderately elevated blood cholesterol levels. (5)

A review of more than 25 studies that appeared in the Journal of the American College of Nutrition in 2000 showed that eating an egg a day isn't associated with increased risk of heart disease in healthy men and women, even after taking into account other aspects of their diet that may increase the risk for heart disease. (6)

A 1999 Harvard University study that collected data from more than 100,000 men and women found no significant difference in heart disease risk between healthy adults who ate less than one egg a week and those who ate more than one egg a day, and that eating up to one egg a day is unlikely to have a significant overall impact on the risk of heart disease or stroke. (7)

 

 

REFERENCES

  1. Harman Nicola L, Leeds, Anthony R, and Griffin, Bruce A. Increased dietary cholesterol does not increase plasma low density lipoprotein when accompanied by an energy-restricted diet and weight loss. European Journal of Nutrition.2008; 47:287-293

  2. Qureshi A, et al. Regular egg consumption does not increase the risk of stroke or cardiovascular diseases. Medical Science Monitor. 2007; 13(1): CR1-8.

  3. Tran NL, et al. Balancing and communicating risks and benefits associated with egg consumption – a relative risk study. Presented at Experimental Biology 2007, Washington, D.C.6 Lee A and Griffin B. Dietary cholesterol, eggs and coronary heart disease risk in perspective. Nutrition Bulletin (British Nutrition Foundation). 2006; 31:21-27.

  4. Lee A and Griffin B. Dietary cholesterol, eggs and coronary heart disease risk in perspective. Nutrition Bulletin (British Nutrition Foundation). 2006; 31:21-27.

  5. Katz DL, et al. Egg consumption and endothelial function: a randomized controlled crossover trial. Int J Cardiol. 2005; 99:65-70.

  6. Kritchevsky S and Kritchvesky D. Egg consumption and coronary heart disease: an epidemiological overview. J Am Coll Nutr. 2000; 19(5): 549S-555S.

  7. Hu FB, et al. A prospective study of egg consumption and risk of cardiovascular disease in men and women. JAMA. 1999; 281:1387-94.

Room 1310, Olympia Plaza,

243-255 King’s Road,

North Point, Hong Kong

Tel: 852-2890-2908

Fax: 852-2895-5546

E-mail: hkoffice@usapeec.com.hk

  • Facebook
  • Instagram