年長人士的智慧

越是年長越能帶來智慧,年長的人經長年累月所得的經驗,能幫助他們選擇有足夠營養的食物。而女性正是能將這些經長年身體力行所得的寶貴經驗好好保存的人。

但隨著時間一天一天地過去,我們的身體也慢慢地變化,也需要對食物的選擇有新的考慮和習慣。四十歲後,女性的肌肉組織開始由脂肪組織所取代,從而減少對卡路里的需求。曾經是保護女性減低患心臟病風險的荷爾蒙也隨著年紀漸大而減少,更年期後的女性,腹部位置也會慢慢肥胖起來。骨質密度亦會因年輕時不當心地消耗而慢慢降低,吸收寶貴營養的能力也會逐漸下降。

持之以恆地保持飲食健康和運動,的確能防止一些隨年長所帶來破壞性的轉變。成長女性是必需要吸收足夠數量的天然營養,在整個成人期,對營養的需求雖然是相若,但對卡路里的需求,就應隨年長而相對地減少。所以在相等卡路里含量的食物中,應選擇最有營養的食物來吃。這亦被營養專家稱之為營養密度,隨年長而越來越重要。

關係到年長女性的營養需要應包括攝取足夠蛋白質、流質、維他命及礦物質。動物蛋白質已被證實能有效保護女性骨質密度。而維他命及礦物質在女性健康中扮演着很重要的角色,當在日常飲食中不能吸收足夠的維他命及礦物質時,免疫能力也逐漸下降。年長後,對由食物所傳播的疾病的抵抗能力隨之下降,包括視覺、味覺及聽覺,年長亦會引致胃酸分泌不足,影响胃部殺死細菌能力,使年長女性更容易從食物傳播中感染疾病。

攝取足夠的維他命及礦物質更能有效防止牙肉疾病,令咀嚼功能得以保持。有些年長女性會因為健康問題或口腔環境欠佳,而影響咀嚼功能,難以咀嚼較硬的食物。不過,雞蛋不但柔軟而且容易咀嚼,並充滿着容易消化的豐富營養。

Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.51.05 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.04 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.41 AM.pn

Senior Wisdom

Maturity should bring wisdom and when considering adequate nutrition, each of us has life experiences that have guided us toward making suitable food choices. Women are often the special keepers of that accumulated health knowledge which has proven itself to be tried and true over a lifetime.

Gradually over time however, changes occur within our bodies that require some new considerations and practices. After age 40, women begin to replace some muscle tissue with fat tissue leading to a reduction in the number of calories one needs as they age. Hormones that once protected women from the risk of heart disease now decline and after menopause women are more likely to put on weight in the dangerous abdominal area. Bone mineral density may also decline as a result of carefree consumption during earlier stages in a woman’s life and a declining ability to absorb valuable nutrients.

A lifetime of healthy eating and exercise should prevent some of the more devastating changes that accompany aging. A healthy intake for the adult woman should include adequate amounts of all nutrients known to be essential. Although nutrient needs are the same throughout adulthood, this must be offset by a diminished requirement for calories as one ages. Foods consumed should contain the most nutrients one can get for the number of calories the food supplies. This is what nutrition experts mean by nutrient density, which has growing importance as we age.

Nutritional concerns for mature women include adequate protein, fluid, vitamin and mineral intake. Animal protein intake has been shown to be beneficial in preserving a women’s bone mineral density. Vitamin and mineral intakes play a large role in preserving a woman’s health and immunity since resistance to infection is often one of the first defenses to be lost when dietary intake is inadequate. As we ages, some of our natural defenses to foodborne illness diminishes including sight, taste and smell as well as stomach acid output that kills bacteria after it reaches the stomach. This makes women more susceptible to foodborne illness as they age.

Consuming enough vitamins and minerals can also help avoid gum disease which makes chewing food a burdensome challenge. For those women who have difficulty chewing food due to medical problems or poor dentition, eggs are soft and easily chewed yet packed with easily digestible nutrients.

Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.04 AM.pn
Screen Shot 2020-06-29 at 12.50.41 AM.pn