過胖是一種多方面引因和複雜的健康問題。現時關於體重管理的指引鼓勵運動配合健康飲食模式,例如多吃全麥,水果,蔬菜,廋蛋白質,低脂或脫脂奶類製品。研究建議成長中人士在其能量減少的餐單加入食物蛋白質,能有效增強飽足感,幫助減輕體重。

Truffles-PURP.jpg

不同臨床實驗均特別指出雞蛋中的高質素蛋白質對飽足感和體重減輕的效用,例如:

  • 一份有關成年人過重問題的研究稱,在比較兩份控制卡路里的早餐單中,以雞蛋作早餐的人仕的身高體重指數,較以吃麵包圈作早餐的人仕降低61%,並可多減65%的體重,且感到更有體力。

  • 男性吃以雞蛋為主的早餐較以吃麵包圈為主的早餐,在接下來當天的餐膳中,更能抑制食慾。

  • 一個有關過重停經前期的女性對飽足感的研究稱,吃火雞腸和雞蛋三文治作早餐較吃低蛋白質薄煎餅作早餐的人,在午餐時更能抑制食慾。

  • 在一個為期3個月的研究中,1星期內6天每天吃兩只雞蛋較每星期只吃小於兩只雞蛋的患有二型糖尿病病患者,多吃雞蛋的一方報稱饑餓感減少,更能感到飽足。

Weight Management & Satiety

Obesity is a multi-factorial and complex health issue. Current guidance for weight management encourages physical activity along with consuming an overall healthy eating pattern which includes whole grains, fruits, vegetables, lean proteins, low-fat and fat-free dairy products. A growing body of research suggests that dietary protein, specifically, can help promote satiety, facilitating weight loss when consumed as part of reduced energy diets.

Truffles-PURP.jpg

Several clinical trials have specifically assessed the effects of high-quality protein from eggs on satiety and weight loss. For example:

  • In a study in overweight adults, calorie-restricted diets that included either eggs or a bagel for breakfast were compared; the people who consumed eggs for breakfast lowered their body mass index by 61%, lost 65% more weight, and reported feeling more energetic than those who ate a bagel for breakfast.

  • Men who consumed an egg breakfast versus a bagel breakfast showed that appetite hormones were suppressed following eggs at breakfast, as was energy intake over the course of the day.

  • study of overweight premenopausal women that evaluated satiety responses to eating a turkey sausage and egg breakfast sandwich versus a low-protein pancake breakfast showed better appetite control and few calories consumed at lunch following the egg-based breakfast.

  • In a 3-month trial among subjects with type 2 diabetes, those who consumed 2 eggs per day for 6 days a week reported less hunger and greater satiety than those who consumed less than 2 eggs per week.