但是,膽固醇又怎樣說呢?

在過去的25年來,雞蛋在美國人的飲食中一直被誤標籤為脂肪,膽固醇及卡路里過度的食物,並廣泛流傳着以限制進食雞蛋為減低患心臟病風險的理由。對於“食物膽固醇等同血液膽固醇”的理念作為推介日常飲食準則,這是沒有考慮太多因素的情況下而作出的批判。

超過50年的膽固醇餵食研究指出,食物膽固醇對血漿膽固醇濃度只有輕微影響,而高密度膽固醇與低密度膽固醇數值是有同時上升,但重要是數值上升的比例沒有太大變化。其實,美國心臟協會已對膳食指引作出修訂,只要日常沒有攝取過量膽固醇的話,每天也是可以進食一隻雞蛋。

對於人體中膽固醇的功能有許多謬誤,而這些錯誤的理解導致年輕母親對她們的孩子進食雞蛋有不必要的憂慮。相比牛奶及奶粉,母乳是含有較多的膽固醇,但當6-12個月大的嬰兒戒掉母乳或奶粉後,其飲食中每星期進食4隻蛋黃,證實對血漿膽固醇水平沒有明顯影響。正因如此,美國心臟協會建議不要讓兩歲以下的孩子限制脂肪飲食。

於幼童時期,膽固醇在中樞神經系統發展擔當一個重要的角色,而且能刺激酵素,從而降低膽固醇。

再者,不論財政狀況如何,雞蛋是非常便宜,而且是提供有益營養的泉源。一般來說,雞蛋在日常飲食餐單中份量可多可少,恰到好處,不容易浪費,還可存放在冰箱內長達一個月,省回不少購買上的時間。雞蛋是多方面適用的,有無限的烹調方法,亦能夠配合各種健康食材,有如大廚一樣發揮煮食創意,令你從不同菜式中吸收雞蛋豐富的營養。

mediakit-basic-fried-eggs.jpg
Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 1.19.39 AM.png

Yes But, What about The Cholesterol?

For over 25 years eggs have unjustly been the icon for the fat, cholesterol and caloric excesses in the American diet, and the message to limit eggs to lower heart disease risk has been widely circulated. The “dietary cholesterol equals blood cholesterol” view is a standard of dietary recommendations, yet few consider whether the evidence justifies such restrictions.

Over 50 years of cholesterol feeding studies show that dietary cholesterol does have a small effect on plasma cholesterol concentrations. Cholesterol feeding studies demonstrate that dietary cholesterol increases both LDL and HDL cholesterol with little change in the important LDL:HDL ratio. In fact, the American Heart Association has revised its dietary guidelines to allow an egg a day in your diet, if the rest of your daily cholesterol intake is limited.

Many misconceptions about the function of cholesterol in human nutrition may lead young mothers to be needlessly concerned about providing eggs to their children. Human milk contains more cholesterol than both cow’s milk or infant formula. For the infant who is weaning from breast milk or formula, no significant effect was found in plasma cholesterol levels when infants age 6-12 months when fed a diet including 4 egg yolks a week. As a matter of fact, current American Heart Association recommendations are not to restrict fat in the diets of children under two years old.

The benefits derived from cholesterol consumption during early childhood relate to cholesterol’s role in the development of the central nervous system as well as stimulation of enzymes needed for cholesterol degradation.

Additionally, when finances are tight, eggs are extremely inexpensive for the powerhouse of nutrition that they are. Eggs are portion sized so there is little wastage and can be refrigerated for up to a month saving many inconvenient trips to the grocery store. Since eggs are so versatile they can be prepared in an infinite number of ways and mixed with so many other healthy ingredients they are sure to keep boredom from interfering with a nutritious intake, and will make you seem like a gourmet chef time and again.

mediakit-basic-fried-eggs.jpg
Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 1.19.39 AM.png